The Black Canadian Awards – MARCH 1

A-Celebration-of-Women-Feature-Banner-e1352628808407 (1) 512


Toronto, ON – Diversity Advancement Network is thrilled to announce the nominees and honorees for the highly anticipated Black Canadian Awards event. Celebrating achievers, role models and exceptional talents in community, entertainment and business. The Black Canadian Awards is poised to be one of the most significant events during the black history month, showcasing how Black Canadians have contributed to the economic development of Canada both in the past and present.

With over 20,000 public nominations during our nomination months, our award process is made up of 12 categories of Honorees, 24 categories of Nominees and numerous Role Models. We are proud to announce the 12 honorees (by nomination process only) and the top six nominees in each of the 24 award categories (by nomination and voting process).

“We believe our accomplishments, both past and present, are relevant enough to be showcased to every Canadian. For instance, very few have heard of Eleanor Collins who in 1955 became the first black woman to have a TV show in North America. She’s now ninety four years old and still sounds very good.” – Says Paul Ade, the Executive Director at the Black Canadian Awards

That’s not me: Black playwrights, authors and academics come together on The Agenda to discuss how they feel film, television and literature portrays their culture. To what extent do black Canadians identify with the U.S. African American narrative?


  1. Professional Excellence: David Bradshaw, Vice President, Banking Operations at ING DIRECT
  2. Community Service: Garnett Manning, Youth Advocate, Agent of Change & Former City Councillor
  3. Heritage Award: Honorable Jean Augustine, First Black woman to be elected into Parliament
  4. Leadership Award: Honorable Lindsay Blackett, Alberta’s First Black Provincial Minister
  5. Public Service Award: Mark Saunders, Deputy Chief, Toronto Police Service (30 years of Service)
  6. Humanitarian Award: Domanique Grant, Women & Kids Mentorship in Uganda, Youngest ever President of a Housing Co-op.
  7. Diversity Awards: George Stroumboulopoulos, CBC TV Host & CNN TV Host
  8. Global Impact Award: Donovan Bailey, Two-time Olympic Gold Medalist, Three-time World Champion.
  9. Pioneer Award: Senator Anne Cools, First woman to be a Senator in North America
  10. Life Time Achievement Award: Eleanor Collins, First Black woman to have a TV show in North America (in 1955)


  1. Best Jazz / Soul Act: Maureen Washington, Sharon Musgrave, KellyLee Evans, Saidah Baba Talibah, Joseph Neale, Shakura S’Aida
  2. Best Pop Act: Jully Black, Farahri, Trish, Fefe Dobson, Kreesha Turner, Melanie Durrant
  3. Best Female R&B Act: Kim Davis, Flo, Andreena Mill, Shi Wisdom, Staasia Daniels, Savannah Re
  4. Best Male R&B Act: DRU, K-os, JRDN, Glenn Lewis, Carlos Morgan, K’naan
  5. Best Female Hip Hop Act : Reema Major, Jelly Too Fly, Michie Mee, Eternia, Phoenix Pagliacci, Haviah Mighty
  6. Best Male Hip Hop Act: Rich Kidd, Harvey Stripes, Maestro, Shad, JD Era, Kardinal Offishall
  7. Best Caribbean Style Act: Anslem Douglas, Soca Emperor, Ammoye, Jahsmin Daley, Shalli, Ms Paige
  8. Best African Style Act: Blacko Blaze, Lorraine Klaasen, Tolumide, Emmanuel Jal, Akin Busari, P-Rhymes & Ozee-B
  9. Best Gospel Act: Toronto Mass Choir, Londa Lamond, Toronto Childrens Concert Choir (TC3), Sharon Riley & Choral, The FocusWay Ministries, Marvia Providence
  10. Best DJ Act: DJ P-plus, DJ Blaze, DJ Law, DJ Mel Boogie, DJ Manifest, DJ Smartiez
  11. Best MC / Host: Sir Lancelot, Jonathan Shaw, Daneo, JJ King, MC Bonde, Kid Kut
  12. Best Contemporary Dance Act: Shawn Byfield, Pulga Muchochoma, Esie Mensah, Hollywood Jade, Toya Robinson, Liana Lewis
  13. Best Traditional Dance Act: Mapou Ginen, Chemagne Martin, Anthony “Prime” Guerra, Ballet Creole, Ijo Vudu, GhCali
  14. Best Actor / Actress: Lisa Berry, Oluniké Adeliyi, Emmanuel Kabongo, Janet Bailey, Dayo Ade, Clé Bennett
  15. Best Spoken Word: David Delisca, Greg Frankson, Randall Adjei, Dwayne Morgan, Nadine Williams, Andrea Tabnor
  16. Best Blogger: Nikki Johnson, MissGo2girl, TEKNIQUE The Kingpin, Bee Quammie, Brenda Chuinkam, Darling Nicky Phillips
  17. Best Entertainer: Trey Anthony, Dorothy Rhau, Trixx, 4Yall-Ent, Arthur Simeon, Jay Martin
  18. Best Media Personality: Heather Seaman, Rosey Edeh, Andrea Bain, Dwight Drummond, Karlene Nation, Scott Laurie.
  19. Best Fashion: Designer: Hylton House, Beni Boo, Cherith Burke, Eloli Design, Vickie Joseph, Beaucoup FH.
  20. Best Athlete: Anthony Bennett, Ohenewa Akuffo, Karina LeBlanc, Tammy Sutton-Brown, Patrick Kabongo, Perdita Felicien
  21. Black Canadian Queen: Ronelle Modeste (Toronto), Susan Hall (Brampton), Valentina Gangadeen (Scarborough), Vanessa Wheatle (Mississauga)
  22. Best International Act: Alison Hinds, Lira, Samini, Khuli Chana, Waje, Destra Garcia
  23. Best Promoter/Event Organiser:- Ron Allen & Cindy Wilson, Chris Jackson, Andre Blenman, Suppa Natty, Shaw Harper, Perle Noire, Leroy “Ras” King
  24. Best Photographer / Videographer: Jalani Morgan, Kamshuka, Alicia Wynters, David Powell (DSP), FaceFilms Production. Potential Films, Krown Videos
  25. Best Beauty Destination:- Diamond Cutz, Faces By Pureness, Hot Secret Salon, Blessing Hairport, Jou Jou Hair Beauty Studio, Nanni’s Natural Hair Salon

The voting period for the Nominees started on February 13, to February 26, 2014 at 11:59pm. This friendly competition is fierce, so we expect a record level of public participation through the voting process and attendance.

Our showcased Role Models will also be recognized during this event and given a certificate of appreciation which entitles them to be inducted into the prestigious “Black Canadian National Wall of Role Models“. The Black Canadian Awards is committed to showcasing positive and inspiring role models within the community; people who have risen against the odds to make a success of their lives. Please log on to to read some of our inspiring role-model interviews. Our complete list of role-model interviews will be launched on February 3rd, for our National Black History month celebrations.

With dignitaries coming from all over Canada, the Black Canadian Awards is a multicultural event open to everyone to attend and will be holding on Saturday March 1st, 2014 from 5 pm at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre, 190 Princes’ Blvd, Toronto, Ontario. Regular tickets will be available from January 23rd for $30 and $40 at the door and VIP tickets will be $60 and $70 at the door.

Ensure you get your tickets once they are released as this is a sell-out event!

The Black Canadian Awards is a non-profit initiative of the Diversity Advancement Network. Part of the proceeds will be added to our Youth and Talent scholarship program.

For Inquiries: Sarah Johnson, Media Contact, Diversity Advancement Network, 416-900-3640 or [email protected] Please log on to and for more information and our weekly online updates.

A-Celebration-of-Women-Feature-Banner-e1352628808407 (1) 512

About Team Celebration

Team Celebration is a devoted group of women dedicated to sharing information that will better the lives of all women making this space a truly convenient Resource for Women globally. Speak Your Mind: You are invited to leave comments and questions below.

You simply type a KEY WORD into our SEARCH BOX at TOP RIGHT of Homepage and a list of associated topic articles offering truly educational and informative features will be at your fingertips.

Copyright 2022 @ A Celebration of Women™ The World Hub for Women Leaders That Care